Friday, 29 August 2014

West of Scotland Championship cancelled

Due to lack of entries the rescheduled West Championship at Windyhill GC on Sunday 14 September has been cancelled.
Late entries may be taken for the Scottish Mixed Foursomes at Dunfermline Golf Club on that date. Please contact

Monday, 25 August 2014

Enjoyable Autumn Meeting today

The Autumn Meeting was held on a dry but cool day at Shotts Golf Club today. The course was in good condition and the buffet breakfast and soup and sandwich lunch were very tasty.
1 Anne Lloyd and Christine Main 69.4
2 Marion Brodie and Jean Allan 70.8
3 Lesley Lloyd and Fiona Scott 75.2

Lesley selected for Scotland

Many congratulations to Lesley Lloyd who has been selected for the Scottish Team for the Senior Home Internationals at Huddersfield Golf Club from 30 September to 2 October. We wish her well.

Friday, 22 August 2014

Susan wins Challenge Cup at County Open Meeting

Congratulations to Susan Wood who won the Challenge Cup for the second year in a row with the best scratch score of two-over-par 76 in yesterday's SLGA county open meeting at Lanark Golf Club.
A field of 47 had to contend with very heavy showers which helped push the CSS up to 77 (reduction only).
Anna Telfer (Milngavie) had the second best scratch score of 78 to win the Muirhead Tankard.
Anna. playing off six, won the Handicap Challenge Cup with a net 72, three ahead of May Hughes,  Lanark.
In the Bronze Division, the Nisbett Scratch Cup was won by Sandra Johnson (Kilbirnie Place) with a score of 106. Sandra's net 85 off 21 also won her the Handicap Challenge Cup in this division.
Janice Gallagher (West Kilbride) was runner-up with a net 89 off 21.

Thursday, 21 August 2014

Wrong date for Wishaw Mixed Open

Please note that  Wishaw Golf Club Mixed Open is on Sunday 31 August. The date in the Wee  Yellow Book is wrong.  If you wish to play please contact the professional, Stuart Adair on 01698 358247. The cost is £10.00 per couple and the charity is Erskine Hospital. 

Monday, 18 August 2014

Winter Foursomes Reminder

The closing date for entries to the Winter Foursomes is 1st September. Entry can be made online or by contacting Fiona Norris.

Draw for Autumn Meeting

Autumn Meeting
Shotts Golf Club 25th August 2014
Please arrive in plenty of time as tea and breakfast roll will be
served on arrival.
Soup and rolls will be served after golf.
Time Name
10.00am Anne Lloyd  &  Christine Main (Hayston)
  Kay Cherrie (Mt Ellen) & Roxy Brown (Hamilton)
10.10am Ann Prentice (Bothwell) & Margaret Allan (Hollandbush)
  Jean Macintyre  & Pam Rice (Strathaven)
10.20am Jean Maddock (Wishaw) & Marion Porter (Strathaven)
  Margaret Porteous  &
Winnie Cossar (Drumpellier)
10.30am Marion Brodie & Jean Allan (Strathaven)
  Anne Mullins & Maureen Carty (Wishaw)
10.40am Lesley Lloyd (Hayston) & Fiona Scott (Bothwell)
  Karen Ward  & Enid King (East Kilbride)
10.50am Anne Pardoe (Strathaven) &
Mary F McCaughley (Drumpellier)  
  Elaine Morris  & Jean Meikle (Hamilton)
11.00am Joan Anderson  & Margaret Marshall (Wishaw)
  Anne Sillars & Jan McMillan (Hayston)
11.10am Ray Wilson & Ann Morrison (Carluke

Wednesday, 13 August 2014

Closing Date reminder

The closing date for entries to the Autumn Meeting at Shotts Golf Club is on Friday. You can enter online (with or without a partner) or by contacting Anne Lloyd.

Saturday, 9 August 2014

England win Junior Home International Matches

England  won the Junior Home Internationals at Donabate Golf Club, Ireland yesterday after beating the other nations over the three days. Ireland was second ,Wales third and Scotland fourth.
I enjoyed being a referee at these matches but apologise that I was not present at the Tri Am and did not keep the website up to date due to problems with wi fi signals. 

Tri Am Report

In spite of a lower than normal number of entries this year the Tri Am was a success with the Cambuslang Course in very good condition and in  weather being kind.
The putting competition was won for the second year by Helen Hamilton with 26 putts. Thank you to Jean Hamilton for taking charge of this competition.
Tri Am Results
1. Marjorie Seymour, Winnie Cossar and Marion Porter 62
2. Fiona Scott, Susan McGrenaghan and Alison Reid 63
The raffle raised £87 and there was £20 in donations.
Thank you to Morag Macdonald for organising and running this competition and to Irene Nisbet and Anne Lloyd for their help on the day.

Scotland lose Deciding Match in Vets Jamboree

In the final Match Scotland lost 6- 3 to England South but Lesley Lloyd won both her games giving her a 5 out of 6 record. She was the star of the Scottish Team. Very well done Lesley.
Scotland finished third in spite of winning two matches.

Thursday, 7 August 2014

Lesley playing very well in Scottish Vet's team

Lesley Lloyd has won three of her four game in the Vet's Jamboree at Wallasey Golf Club in the last two days. Yesterday she won the deciding single in the 5-4 win for Scotland against England Midlands.
Today she and her partner Sheena Wood won their Foursome at the 18th and Lesley won her singles match 5  and 4 in Scotland's 5-4 win over England North.
For full report go to Kirkwood Golf.

Sunday, 3 August 2014

Entry Form for Rescheduled West of Scotland Championship

The entry form for the rescheduled West of Scotland Championship on Sunday 9th September can be obtained by clicking on the link below.
Fiona will contact those who entered for the Championship on the original date. We hope that others will be able to compete on the new date.
Entry Form

Saturday, 2 August 2014

The draw for the Tri  Am on Friday 8 August at Cambuslang Golf Club is posted below. There will also be a putting competition for those not wanting to play in the Tri Am. (Time- 11.00am)
We are not having a bring and win raffle this year so please do not  bring a prize. There will be a raffle but just a normal one.
Please arrive early in case of changes to times.
9.30. Anne Lloyd Margaret Porteous Margaret Allan
9.40. Marjory Seymour Marion Porter Winnie Cossar
9.50. Margaret Reid Anne Pardoe Jean Glass
10.00. Joan Anderson Enid King Irene Cooper
10.10. Fiona Scott Alison Reid Dorothy Loudon
10.20. Jennifer Wiles Jean Allan Jan Watt
10.30. Kay Cherrie M F McCaughley Roxy Brown